Back to News

May 1, 2024 MYR Group Subsidiaries Recognized for NECA 2024 Safety Excellence and Zero Injury


MYR Group continues to prioritize safety as a fundamental value ingrained in our corporate culture, a commitment that resonates strongly across our subsidiaries. This month, the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) recognized five of our subsidiaries—Huen Electric, Harlan Electric, Sturgeon Electric, Sturgeon Electric California, and L.E. Myers—for their outstanding achievements in Safety Excellence and Zero Injury.

NECA announced its premier recognition program on April 15, acknowledging contractors’ exemplary safety performance. Across these five MYR Group subsidiaries, nine districts attained Safety Excellence awards, while two districts won Zero Injury recognition for their performance in 2023.

Attaining Safety Excellence and Zero Injury status represents a significant milestone that reflects our company-wide dedication and concerted efforts across all districts. Through consistent pursuit of a shared safety objective, we prioritize effective communication and diligent work practices. This emphasis on safety underscores the importance of having experienced and qualified crew foremen, as well as a dependable workforce.

Our safety department plays a crucial role in proactively managing cases and identifying potential issues before they escalate into incidents or injuries. This proactive approach supports our districts in maintaining stable workflows and procedural integrity, ensuring alignment with safety expectations throughout our operations.

Safety Excellence Winners:

  • Harlan Electric: Rochester Hills, MI; Harrisburg, PA
  • Huen Electric: Columbus, NJ
  • Sturgeon Electric: Phoenix, AZ; Tucson, AZ; Henderson, CO; Auburn, WA
  • Sturgeon Electric California: Chino, CA
  • L.E. Myers: Chattanooga, TN

Zero-Injury Winners:

  • Harlan Electric: Rochester Hills, MI
  • Sturgeon Electric: Auburn, WA

Congratulations To All!

NECA’s Recognition of Safety Achievement program stands as a prestigious acknowledgment, spotlighting companies that demonstrate excellence across various aspects of safety and health initiatives. Member companies maintaining consistently low OSHA recordable injury and fatality rates, coupled with internal safety practices exceeding basic compliance, often earn this esteemed recognition.

Congratulations to all our districts for this remarkable achievement and for steadfastly upholding safety as the cornerstone of our company.

See all 2024 Winners